Montesquieu Instituut: van wetenschap naar samenleving

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in respect of actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine

On 12 September 2019, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2019/1405[1]. The Council Decision extended sanctions over actions against Ukraine’s territorial integrity until 15 March 2020, and amended the information concerning 21 individuals and 19 entities set out in Annex to Decision 2014/145/CFSP.

The Candidate Countries Montenegro* and Albania*, the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 13.09.2019 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 236, p.17.

*Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.